Jun 07, 2023  
2021-2022 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog 
2021-2022 Undergraduate and Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Animal and Food Sciences


Michael Orth, Ph.D., Chairperson

Horn Professor: Galyean
San Antonio Livestock Exposition Chair: Miller
Gordon W. Davis Regent’s Chair: Johnson
Roth and Letch Family Chair in Food Safety: Brashears
Cargill Professor in Sustainable Meat Science: Woerner
Thornton Distinguished Chair in Animal Science: Hales
John W. and Doris Jones Associate Professor: R. Rathmann
Professors: Brady, J. Brooks, Jackson, McGlone, ​Nightingale, Orth, Prien, Thompson
Associate Professors: Legako, Sanchez Plata, Sarturi
Assistant Professors: Crossland, Echeverry, Hall, D. Henry, Petry, Schroeder, Stellato
Professor of Practice: Riccitelli
Instructors: Backus, T. Brooks, Gauthier, Irwin, Jorgensen, E. Machado, K. Rathmann, Sillivent, Thomas
Adjunct Faculty: Bugarel, Calle, Fritzler, F. Henry, Koohmaraie, Penrose, Protopopova, Shackelford, Steuer, Sutherland, Wheeler

CONTACT INFORMATION: 103 Animal and Food Sciences Building | Box 42141 | Lubbock, TX 79409-2141 | T 806.742.2805 | F 806.742.0898 | www.depts.ttu.edu/afs/

About the Department

This department supervises the following degree programs and certificate:

The department offers minors in animal science or food science for students majoring outside the department. For more information on requirements for completing a minor, refer to Selecting a Minor  in the introductory information about this college or contact a department advisor.

Graduate Program

For information on graduate programs offered by the Department of Animal and Food Sciences, visit the Graduate Programs  section of the catalog.

Undergraduate Program Offerings & Course Descriptions


    Bachelor’sUndergraduate MinorUndergraduate CertificateUndergraduate Concentration


      ANSC - Animal Science (Undergraduate Courses)ANSC - Animal Science (Graduate Courses)FDSC - Food Science (Undergraduate Courses)FDSC - Food Science (Graduate Courses)